About

IMG_20180609_184648_614

What’s your name?

You can call me Ben. The ‘bumps’ in ‘bumps on a trip’ is my nom de plume.

Where are you from?

Singapore.

Where are you now?

I’m currently in Australia on a working holiday visa for the whole of 2019. I’ve been at Darwin, Cairns, Melbourne, and Perth. Currently in a pretty little township in Western Australia which I will write about eventually.

What kind of travelling do you do?

I try to spend as little as comfortably possible on essential aspects: I stay in hostels, and cook a lot of my own meals on longer trips. I also like to travel light, with one carry-on backpack for short trips and two backpacks at most for trips more than a month. I also enjoy travelling solo or with a few companions at most, and I like making new friends along the way.

What do you do when you travel?

In cities, I try to find free to cheap stuff to do, such as museums, gardens, and parks. I am also always hungry for the local cuisine; half the reason I travel is to eat. Whenever possible, I go for a local hike. I’ve been trying to plan specifically for multi-day camping and hiking trips.

Where have you been?

Notably: most of Southeast Asia, Japan, China, India, Australia, and North America.

Where do you want to go?

I haven’t been to Europe or Latin America. When I finally go, I want to go for at least a month or more. I also want to do a thru hike in the US, such as the Pacific Crest Trail.

Any other questions?

Ask me in the comments!

Updated April 2019.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s